Sandbach 2nd XV 15 – 37 Lymm 2nd XV

2nd Team Match Report | Saturday January 6 2024

Lymm 2nds in fine New Year Form

Lymm started the first half well, keeping the ball and going through the phases. Consistent play brought a penalty which Alex Mukherjee successfully converted. (0-3) Lymm then sprung into life on the front foot, following restart with some slick handling from the backs giving Ben Youlden Cole a 1v1 with his opposite man who he breezed past to score under the posts. Conversion successful (0-10). Following a period of play around the half way line, Sandbach were awarded a penalty which was successful. (3-10). Lymm bounced straight back with a strong passage of play. Multiple quick phases led to Rory Cartilage getting the ball on the wing. He’s expertly beat two players and scored his first try for Lymm. Conversion unsuccessful.

Half Time: Sandbach 3 – 15 Lymm

Lymm started the second half in similar fashion to the first, playing down the hill stringing some good phases together but for little reward. Lymm eventually crossed after an excellent driving maul. Try scored by Sadge making the score 3-20. Lymm then suffered two yellow cards in quick success ion for high tackles leaving then down to 13 players. Sandbach capitalised on the shortage of Lymm defenders scoring two quick tries (15-20). Lymm then regained control with a successful penalty from Mukherjee (15-23). Having had one player return from the sin bin Lymm scored again, Max Caldwell with an excellent intercept in his own half. He had the speed to break away and score (15-30). The final try came with the last play of the game when Ben Polec broke through from short range to score under the posts.

Full Time: Sandbach 15 – 37 Lymm

Overall an excellent performance to start 2024 for Lymm second team! They will look forward to Rossendale at home next week.

Team: 1. Jordan Widdrington 2. Hamish Scott-Heron 3. Joe Higgins 4. Ben Polec 5. Quinn Peers 6. Rory Riddell 7. Rory Cartlidge 8. Sohail Kakia 9. George Anderson 10. Alex MuKherjee 11. Ben Youlden-Cole 12. Max Caldwell 13. Jack Stride 14. Ryan Brown 15. Will Day 16. Tom Harle 17. Ryan Vandan

Match Report: Malcolm Pritchard


The form was submitted successfully.

You will now be redirected to our payment page.